Lady Roadrunners Land On Conference Superlatives List

Lady Roadrunners Land On Conference Superlatives List


AC Athletics


Six members of the Angelina College Lady Roadrunner softball team earned their way to some post-season honors on the Region XIV East Zone superlatives list released earlier this week.

Sophomore Nikki Whitehead (Kingwood) was the zone’s Co-Player of the Year, and sophomore McKenna Fryar (Hardin) was the Pitcher of the Year.

Whitehead and Fryar also were named 1st Team All-Conference along with teammates Makayla Rodger (Huntsville), Kaylee Ancelot (Orangefield) and Brette Kohring (Brenham). Tristin Anders (Mont Belvieu) earned 2nd Team All-Conference honors.

Whitehead led the zone with a .500 batting average and struck out just once in 194 plate appearances. She finished first in the zone in hits (86) and total bases (132) while fielding her shortstop position at a .971 fielding percentage.

Fryar topped the conference with a 1.54 ERA in 29 appearances. She finished with a season record of 16-4 with eight saves, and finished second in the zone with 143 strikeouts (7.88 per game).

Rodger, a freshman catcher, drove in 31 runs while batting at a .410 clip. She fielded her position well enough to earn a .974 fielding percentage for the season.

Ancelot, also a freshman, led the team in home runs with 14, which was good enough for second in the zone. Ancelot drove in 57 runs and finished the regular season with a slugging percentage of .784.

Kohring, a sophomore designated player, hit .417 for the season while bashing five homers and driving in 48 runs.

Anders hit .368 while knocking five homers and driving in 38 runs. She led the Lady Roadrunners in stolen bases with eight.

The Lady Roadrunners finished the regular season with a league-leading .384 team batting average and finished second with a .587 team slugging percentage.

AC opens the Region XIV Softball Conference Championship tournament Sunday against Galveston College. Game time at the Larry Phillips Family Sports Complex in Lufkin is 2:30 p.m.

The e-mail address for AC’s Sports Information Director is