Seven Roadrunners Land on JUCO All-Star Team

Seven Roadrunners Land on JUCO All-Star Team


AC Athletics


Seven Angelina College Roadrunners will make appearances during this weekend’s Texas-New Mexico Junior College Baseball Coaches Association All-Star Game in Brenham – the most ever for an AC team at the event.

According to AC head coach Jeff Livin, the total could have been even higher.

“The guys selected certainly deserved the honor,” Livin said, “but we had several other guys I thought were deserving as well.”

The baseball showcase features sophomore players from different NJCAA regions and will open on Friday.

Roadrunners making the trek include Sean Bergeron, Taylor Meaux, Tanner Sembera, Dylan Murphy, Dillon Nesbit, Lance Lusk and Jacob Mead.

Bergeron, from Crosby High School in Crosby, was a team leader both at the plate and on the mound in 2018. Bergeron hit .289 with five homers, 20 RBI and a .471 slugging percentage. As a pitcher, he posted an 8-4 record, striking out 69 batters in 66.1 innings pitched.

Meaux, from White Oak, hit .342 with 25 RBI, a .492 slugging percentage and a team-leading .494 on-base percentage. Meaux also stole 10 bases for the Roadrunners.

Murphy, a Lufkin product, batted .307 with 27 RBI and a .400 on-base percentage. Nesbit (Klein Collins High School in Spring), hit .400 with a .545 slugging percentage and 13 RBI.

Other AC pitchers joined Bergeron on the list. Sembera, a left-handed pitcher from Weimar, was effective out of the bullpen, posting a 3.38 ERA with 21 strikeouts in 16 innings pitched. Mead, from Cedar Ridge High School in Round Rock, went 4-2 and struck out 37 hitters in 41.2 innings pitched. Lusk, another Spring native, struck out 83 batters in 71.2 innings pitched.

The players will join the Region XIV squad. All games will be played at Blinn College in Brenham; the weekend’s schedule is as follows:

Friday, Sep. 21:  Region V North vs. Region XIV East, 12:30 p.m.

Saturday, Sep. 22: Region XIV East vs. Region V North, 11 a.m.  

 The e-mail address for AC’s Sports Information Director is